Annual General Meeting of the Members of Berghutte Ski Club Held 9th May 2023 Minutes

Location: William Room, Canada Bay Club 8 William Street, Five Dock NSW 2046 on Tuesday 9 May

The president, David Price declared the meeting open at 7.30pm and welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Present:

Michael Pennell, Kate Manka, Sharon O'Sullivan, Louise Adam, Reid Ballingall, Andrew Ferster, David Price, Greg Hutton, Kristiane Price, Olivia Price, Harry Price, Paul Manka, Andrew Kendall, Robyn Kendall, Bruce Wallis, Isabella Hutton, Greg Quinn, Robyn Lamb, Graeme Anderson, Graeme Young, Natasha Young, Drew Blomfield, Heidi Lillyman, Tony O'Sullivan, Mary O'Sullivan

Apologies:

Anne O'Sullivan, David O'Sullivan, Joanna O'Sullivan, Matthew O'Sullivan, Julie Zwarteveen, Lyn Kearney

BUSINESS

1. The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 14 June 2022 were accepted as a true and correct record. Proposed Graeme Anderson Seconded Andrew Ferster Carried

2. To receive and adopt the Annual Report and the Financial Statements for the year ended 2022.

Proposed Greg Quinn Seconded David Price Carried.

Greg Quinn, Honorary Treasurer spoke to the annual financial report. The Club's financial situation has improved during the last financial year. This year was more reflective of a usual year prior to Covid. Our improved finances enable us to plan maintenance and upgrading works.

During the past year Berghutte has welcomed 32 new members: 6 new families (including 12 juniors), 4 other adults and 4 juniors.

Current total membership is 351 including adults and juniors. Membership numbers have been stable for many years.

Report from the building committee

Bruce Wallis described the maintenance and upgrades planned for 2023-2025. Much of the works planned are overdue maintenance including internal and external painting, concrete driveway repairs, replacing fridges, freezers and carpet and furniture upgrade for common areas. There is provision for a major fire upgrade which will be required by the Department of Planning when any DA is submitted.

Upgrades are planned to increase the number of rooms by two by converting the current managers' quarters back to 3 rooms and create a new managers accommodation by converting room 7 and a members' kitchenette. Provision is being made to create bike storage because mountain bike riding has become a significant draw card for summer visitors to Thredbo.

Consultants include architects, engineers and other building consultants to meet requirements for Development Application and Building Code of Australia (BCA) approval.

3. That pursuant to Clubs Articles, the Members consider and if thought fit pass the following Ordinary Resolutions:

Annual General Meeting of the Members of Berghutte Ski Club Held 9th May 2023 Minutes

That the Members hereby approve the following benefits and expenditure for Directors, and certain other Members of the Club during the period from the date of this resolution to the date of the next Annual General Meeting:

a. the provision of reasonable meals and refreshments for Directors Committee and other members attending Board Meetings, or whilst on official Club duty; and the cost of attendance at inter-club or official events when representing the Club, as approved by the Board;

b. to be reimbursed for all reasonable expenses, provided such expenses are approved by the Board, with appropriate substantiated documentation where possible, and the total amount of these expenses does not exceed \$100 for each Director per annum.

Proposed by Paul Manka Seconded by Kristiane Price Carried

4. To elect Office-bearers and Directors in accordance with Article 44.

David Price relinquished the chair and Greg Hutton took the chair.

David Price was proposed as president seconded by Sharon O'Sullivan. There being no other nominations David Price was declared president.

Greg Hutton proposed Kate Manka seconded Greg Quinn. There being no other nominations Greg Hutton was appointed as Vice President.

The following people were nominated as directors: Drew Blomfield, Greg Quinn, Sharon O'Sullivan, Andrew Ferster, Kate Manka, Louise Adam, Reid Ballingal, Andrew Kendall

A ballot was held and the following directors were elected:

Greg Quinn, Sharon O'Sullivan, Andrew Ferster, Kate Manka, Reid Ballingal, Andrew Kendall

5. To transact any other business which may be submitted in accordance with the Memorandum of Articles and Association.

The new manager of the lodge was announced as Matt Whitworth. Matt has been managing the lodge during the 22/23 summer and has been contracted to continue through winter.

Sharon O'Sullivan advised there is some availability over winter. Bookings have been much like a normal winter prior to Covid. Members are encouraged to book themselves and their guests in.

Graeme Anderson spoke to the benefits of younger adult members to be involved in the management of the club.

The meeting closed at 8.45pm